top of page
Roy Simmons, Jr.

Enshrined 1990

Lacrosse is in Roy Simmons Jr.’s blood. Like his father, legendary Syracuse University lacrosse coach Roy Simmons Sr., Roy Jr. also coached lacrosse on the hill and went on to become a hall of fame coach.


Simmons began his lacrosse career at Kimball Union Academy in New Hampshire where he played three years of varsity lacrosse then enrolled at SU in 1955. He earned honorable mention All-American honors in 1957 and 1958. Simmons, an attackman, was the second-leading scorer at SU in 1957, behind fellow lacrosse hall of famer Jim Brown. In 1958, Simmons was chosen to be a team captain and represented SU in the North/South Collegiate All-Star game. He received a BS degree in sculpture from SU in 1959.


Following his graduation, Simmons remained at Syracuse as the freshman lacrosse coach and assistant to his father. Simmons Jr., known affectionately as "Slugger", took over the Orange lacrosse program from his father in 1971. He guided SU for 28 seasons, retiring after the 1998 campaign with an overall record of 290-96 (.751). During his tenure as head coach, Simmons led the Orange to 19 NCAA playoff appearances, 16 straight Final Fours, and NCAA national championships in 1983, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993, and 1995. He is one of only two coaches to have won three consecutive NCAA Division I National Championships.




1971-1998: Served as SU lacrosse coach and compiled an overall record of 290-96 and won six NCAA championships.


1980: Received the F. Morris Touchstone Trophy as the Division I Coach of the Year. He also coached the North/South Collegiate All-Star game the same year


1984: Selected as a Syracuse Letterman of Distinction; Received the Blind Men and Criers annual Edward J. Kearney Award for service to the Syracuse community.


1991: Inducted to the United States Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the Upstate New York Chapter of the Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame


2005: Recognized for his outstanding coaching career with a banner of a blue coaching jacket featuring the Syracuse block S logo that was raised to the Carrier Dome rafters


2009: Received the "Spirit of Tewaaraton Award", only the fourth recipient of the award with A.B. "Buzzy" Krongard, Diane Geppi-Aikens and Sid Jamieson

bottom of page